Prairie Spirit School Division receives Premier’s Award

December 11, 2018

REGINA–Prairie Spirit School Division has received the 2018 Premier’s Board of Education Award for Innovation and Excellence in Education for its submission of “innovative music programming” in the division. 

The Saskatchewan School Boards Association coordinates the Premier’s Award each year. The award was presented on behalf of Premier Scott Moe during the SSBA Annual General Assembly on November 16. 

“I want to congratulate Prairie Spirit School Division for winning this year’s award,” Todd Goudy, MLA for Melfort, said on behalf of Premier Moe. “This award honours the great work in Prairie Spirit schools, which includes expanding opportunities through an innovative music program that brings quality music education to rural schools.” 

In its application for the award, Prairie Spirit School Division said a new approach to music programming called Resonate ( was initiated in the division in 2015. Resonate is designed to be an inclusive approach to music programming and involves a number of channels and outlets, including a student music conference, teacher professional development, performances and other events. 

“We measure success for our school board by whether students and teachers are successful,” said Prairie Spirit Board Chairperson Sam Dyck. “Resonate gives us feedback that tells us the subject matter is relevant and that parents are engaged in the students’ learning–two of the factors we use as key ingredients to achieve student success.” 

The $3,000 award is sponsored by Xerox Canada. The award recipient is recommended by a panel that includes representation from education sector partners. Developed in 1999, the Premier’s Award recognizes educational innovations and improvements focused on student achievement that have been advanced or directed by boards of education. The prize is to be used to support or extend the innovation or project. 

“The Premier’s Award highlights the great work being done by school boards throughout the province,” said SSBA President Shawn Davidson. “While there is only one recipient of the award each year, every submission is worthy of recognition for promoting efforts to help ensure success for all students.” 

Two life members of the SSBA were also recognized during the assembly–Connie Bailey, former trustee for Sun West School Division, and Élizabeth Perreault, former trustee of the Conseil des écoles fransaskoises.

The Association also presents its Award of Distinction in recognition of outstanding service and significant contribution 
to enhancing education in Saskatchewan. Three Award of Distinction recipients were recognized 
this year–Larry Caswell (Chinook), Bert de Gooijer (Prairie Valley) and Ray Morrison (Saskatoon Public). 

Media Release
Saskatchewan School 
Boards Association
November 18, 2018