Monday, November 24, 2014

SASKATOON – The Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation is pleased to announce that the Dr. Stirling McDowell Foundation for Research Into Teaching and the University of Saskatchewan are co-sponsoring Learning From Practice: An Exchange of Teacher Knowledge and Research on November 28, 2014. This one-day conference provides the opportunity to connect with teachers and educational colleagues who will share inspiring classroom-based research experiences.

Read More
Friday, October 31, 2014

The Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation welcomes the government’s announcement that they are reallocating funding to support students and teachers in the classroom.

“We commend the government’s action to support student learning and address enrolment growth in our province,” said Randy Cline, Vice-President of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation.

Read More
Monday, June 16, 2014

SASKATOON – Saskatchewan teachers have rejected a proposed tentative Provincial Collective Bargaining Agreement for 2013-17 that was reached with the Government of Saskatchewan and school board trustees in May 2014. The provincewide vote held on June 5, 2014 resulted in 63 per cent of teachers deciding against the agreement. A total of 13,236 ballots were returned to the auditing firm that tabulated the vote on behalf of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation.

Read More
Friday, May 2, 2014

SASKATOON – Opting for continuity in a time of significant change for the teaching profession in Saskatchewan, those attending the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Annual Meeting of Council re-elected incumbent Colin Keess for a third term as president.

Keess, a longtime educator who taught most recently in Estevan, characterized the election results as having been a cautious vote by councillors.

Read More
Wednesday, April 30, 2014

The recently announced Education Sector Strategic Plan will be just one of several education-related initiatives that will be discussed in detail at this year’s Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Annual Meeting of Council, April 30 to May 3 at the Radisson Hotel.

Read More