Investments Committee

The STF Investment Committee is comprised of independent professionals with specialized investment management, finance, legal or actuarial knowledge, each appointed by the STF Executive.


Jeff Stepan, CPA, CA, CFA, ICD.D

Committee Chair

Mr. Stepan is the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI). Prior to joining SGI in 2008, he spent 17 years as an institutional investment consultant with Hewitt Associates where he consulted clients in the pension, endowment, and insurance sectors.

Mr. Stepan is a Chartered Professional Accountant and Chartered Financial Analyst and holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors. He is also an avid volunteer with the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

Kamila Giesbrecht, CFA, RPA

Ms. Giesbrecht is the Executive Director of Investments at the University of British Columbia’s Faculty Pension Plan, where she manages all investment activities related to the Plan. 

Ms. Giesbrecht has extensive investment industry experience, with over 22 years in the industry. She previously worked as Principal at George & Bell Inc. and was a senior consultant at both Aon Consulting and Phillips, Hager & North.

Ms. Giesbrecht received her Bachelor of Commerce in Finance from the University of Toronto. She is a Chartered Financial Analyst and a Retirement Pension Associate.

Jon Schubert, CMA, HCIP, ICD.D

Mr. Schubert is the former CEO at Saskatchewan Government Insurance and the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia. He now owns and operates Jon Schubert Consulting where he assists clients on strategic issues, interim executive, and other assignments in the financial services sector. He is also the past and present member of several boards across the country.

Grant J. Kook, C. Dir., S.O.M.

Mr. Kook is the President, Chief Executive Officer, and founder of Westcap Mgt. Ltd., one of Saskatchewan's largest venture capital and private equity fund managers. He has broad experience on the boards of several companies, including Sasktel, the Saskatchewan Health Authority and the Saskatchewan Blue Cross. 

Mr. Kook has earned the Chartered Director Designation from McMaster University DeGroote School of Business and served as a Director for the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) Saskatchewan Chapter, and received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2013.

David Doerksen, MBA, CPA-CMA

Mr. Doerksen is Vice President of Marketing for Cameco. He has been with Cameco for more than 20 years and has held senior positions in treasury, strategy, marketing, and business development before assuming his current role.

Mr. Doerksen has a broad commercial background with more than 30 years of experience in the natural resources industry. Before joining Cameco, he held various commercial positions in finance, treasury, and business development. He also recently served as a board member of Saskatoon’s Regional Economic Development Agency.

Mr. Doerksen holds a bachelor’s degree in Commerce from the University of Saskatchewan, an MBA from the University of Chicago, and a Canadian CPA, CMA designation. 

Louis Martel, CFA, ICD.D 

Mr. Martel is recently retired from the position of Managing Director and Chief Client Strategist for Greystone, where he was one of five managing partners.

Prior to his tenure with Greystone, Mr. Martel held senior pension and investment consulting roles with AON Consulting, Watson Wyatt, and Mercer. He has significant board experience serving on the boards of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan and Saskatchewan Blue Cross. 

Mr. Martel received a Bachelor of Science from Laval University. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst, Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries.