Teachers’ Bargaining Committee

The Teachers’ Bargaining Committee is responsible for negotiating a provincial collective bargaining agreement for Saskatchewan’s 13,500 teachers. Their role includes assembling information, gathering intelligence and developing a strategy to meet the specific challenges that lay ahead. They take their job very seriously, from the beginning where information on bargaining priorities is gathered from teachers, all the way through to the post-mortem evaluation of negotiations.

Teachers’ Bargaining Committee 2020-23

Patrick Maze 

Patrick Maze

Patrick is the President of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. He was first elected in 2015 and re-elected annually at meetings of the STF’s governing Council from 2016 through 2018 and then for a two-year term in 2019.

Prior to serving as STF President, Maze served as the President of the Regina Public School Teachers’ Association. He graduated in 2004 from the University of Regina with a master’s degree in educational administration. He began his teaching career in Regina in 1996. Patrick has also served on the Board of Governors at the University of Regina where he chaired the Board’s Human Resources Committee from 2012 to 2016.

In 2016, he obtained a certificate in labour negotiations from Queen’s University.

Samantha Becotte

Samantha is the Vice-President of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. She has served on the provincial Executive since 2015. In addition to being a member of the Teachers’ Bargaining Committee, she is also a member of the STF Executive’s Budget, Finance and Audit and Executive Governance committees.

In 2009, Samantha earned her bachelor of science in mathematics and bachelor of education. In 2016, she received her masters of mathematics for teachers. She has been teaching for 10 years with experience in middle school and high school.


Nadine has been an educator for 20 years. She has taught in several communities including Weyburn, Watson, Lake Lenore and Lanigan. She has also served as vice-principal in Wakaw and vice-principal and principal in Cudworth.

Nadine has been an executive member of her local association since 2005, serving as treasurer, secretary and councillor. She is honoured to have been elected to the STF Executive in 2019. Nadine is also a member of the Executive Governance and Professional Complaints Committees.

In 2002 Nadine earned her bachelor of education from the University of Regina. She has five children and resides in Saskatoon.  


Neal began teaching in 1993 and has spent the bulk of his career in southwest Saskatchewan. He has served on the provincial Executive since 2017. In addition to serving on the Teachers’ Bargaining Committee, he is also a member of the Executive Visioning and Strategic Planning Committee.

During his career Neal has served as the president of the Chinook Teachers’ Association (CTA) and has been a long-time LINC chairperson of both the CTA and the legacy Gull Lake Teachers’ Association. 

With degrees in both education and history, Neal has spent most of his career in the humanities, but he has taught everything from Biology 30 to PE 3 and even spent a few years as a vice-principal in the late 1990s.

Randy Schmaltz

Randy Schmaltz

Randy Schmaltz is the Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. He brings a wealth of experience from the education sector to the Teachers’ Bargaining Committee. 

Randy began teaching in 1989 and served as a school principal at a number of Saskatchewan locations for more than 20 years. After joining the Federation’s Senior Administrative Staff in August of 2010, Randy has been involved continually in many aspects of the collective bargaining process. That experience includes membership on Saskatchewan’s Joint Committee on Student and Teacher Time as well as the Task Force on Teacher Time.

In his capacity as Executive Director, Randy is the Chair of the Teachers’ Bargaining Committee.

Angela Banda 

Angela Banda

Angela Banda comes to the Teachers’ Bargaining Committee after a long and distinguished career in education. She has travelled the globe in her capacity as a presenter for Project Overseas, PDP India and the New Teachers’ Conference. 

Angela taught in the K-12 public education system for 28 years before joining the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. She was a principal and vice-principal in Saskatoon for 14 years.

Al Boutin

Al Boutin

Al Boutin is relatively new to the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. However, his roots in the province’s education sector run deep.

Al is currently a Senior Administrative Staff member at the STF. Prior to joining the Federation, Al was the Human Resources Superintendent at Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools.

He has twice graduated from the University of Saskatchewan; first with a bachelor of education, then with a masters degree in educational administration.

He’s been a teacher and a principal in several communities including Prince Albert, Weyburn, North Battleford and Makwa, Saskatchewan.

Al’s previous experience includes roles as Chief Spokesperson and lead negotiator for a number of LINC and non-teacher contracts. He’s looking forward to this new challenge of negotiating a provincial collective bargaining agreement for teachers all across our province.

Kevin Schmidt

Kevin Schmidt

Kevin has 22 years of classroom experience, including experience as a vice-principal. His main areas of teaching expertise are in math and chemistry. He has been a member of the Federation’s Senior Administrative Staff for almost a decade.

Kevin received training in mediation from the Alternate Dispute Resolution Institute of Canada in 2016. He has recently completed training in negotiation skills from the Industrial Relations Centre at Queen’s University.