Teachers Announce Rotating Withdrawal of Noon-Hour Supervision

February 26, 2024
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Today, teachers are giving notice of a one-day withdrawal of noon-hour supervision that will take place on Thursday, February 29 at locations throughout the province. By law, 48 hours’ notice is required for job action; however, the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation is providing extra time to allow families to make arrangements.

Withdrawal of noon-hour supervision means STF members will not be available to supervise students who are eating lunch at school or taking part in noon-hour activities. Although teachers, including principals and vice-principals, often provide lunch break supervision, it is done on a voluntary basis. Student supervision is the responsibility of the school division and supervisors are not required to be teachers. Withdrawal of noon-hour supervision will involve members of the following local associations:

  • Chinook Teachers’ Association – All schools in Chinook School Division
  • Creighton Teachers’ Association – All schools in Creighton School Division
  • Lloydminster Teachers’ Association – All schools in Lloydminster Public School Division and Lloydminster Catholic School Division
  • North East Teachers’ Association – All schools in North East School Division
  • Prairie Spirit Teachers’ Association – All schools in Prairie Spirit School Division

Teachers understand that the withdrawal of noon-hour supervision is an inconvenience to many families. Parents and caregivers concerned about the impact of job action should contact their MLAs and elected school board trustees and ask them to encourage the government’s bargaining committee to return to the table with a new mandate. Individuals can visit www.tellthemtuesday.com to show support for education and teachers.

Contact information

Lynn Redl-Huntington, BA | Manager, Communications