Provincewide Withdrawal of Extracurricular and Rotating Withdrawal of Noon-Hour Supervision

March 8, 2024
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Teachers are giving notice of a three-day, provincewide withdrawal of extracurricular activities on March 11-13 and a one-day, rotating withdrawal of noon-hour supervision on March 11. By law, 48 hours’ notice is required for job action; however, the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation is providing extra time to allow families to make arrangements.

STF President Samantha Becotte says teachers regret the continuation of job action but remain steadfast that measures to address class size and complexity must be part of the provincial collective agreement.

“While this week’s funding announcement is welcome, it does not guarantee ongoing, predictable and sustainable funding for education,” Becotte says. “We have said on many occasions that a new collective agreement is within reach; government simply has to come to the bargaining table with a mandate to negotiate class size and complexity.”

The provincewide withdrawal of extracurricular activities on Monday, March 11, Tuesday, March 12 and Wednesday, March 13 means teachers will not provide voluntary services involved in the organization, supervision and facilitation of activities including athletics, non-curricular arts, field trips, student travel, graduation preparations, school clubs and other activities.

Withdrawal of noon-hour supervision on Monday, March 11 means STF members will not supervise students who are eating lunch at school or taking part in noon-hour activities. Although teachers, including principals and vice principals, often provide lunch break supervision, it is done on a voluntary basis. Student supervision is the responsibility of the school division and supervisors are not required to be teachers. Withdrawal of noon-hour supervision will involve teachers who are members of the following local associations:

  • Creighton Teachers’ Association – All schools in Creighton School Division
  • Holy Trinity Teachers’ Association – All schools in Holy Trinity Catholic School Division
  • Horizon Teachers’ Association – All schools in Horizon School Division
  • Lloydminster Teachers’ Association – All schools in Lloydminster Public and Lloydminster Catholic school divisions
  • North West Teachers’ Association – All schools in Northwest School Division
  • Prairie South Teachers’ Association – All schools in Prairie South School Division
  • Prairie Valley Teachers’ Association – All schools in Prairie Valley School Division
  • Prince Albert and Area Teachers’ Association – All schools in Saskatchewan Rivers and Prince Albert Catholic school divisions

Teachers understand that the withdrawal of noon-hour supervision and extracurricular activities is a concern for many students and families. Parents and caregivers concerned about the impact of job action should contact their MLA and elected school board trustees and encourage the government’s bargaining committee to return to the table with a new mandate. Visit to show support for education and teachers.

Contact information

Lynn Redl-Huntington, BA | Manager, Communications