Teacher Education Programs

In order to teach in Saskatchewan, a degree in education obtained through a university or a teacher education program is required. The University of Regina and University of Saskatchewan offer four-year baccalaureate programs. Teacher education programs for Indigenous and northern students are affiliated with the universities including the Indian Teacher Education Program, Northern Teacher Education Program and Saskatchewan Urban Native Teacher Education Program.

Learn more about the entrance and course requirements of teacher education programs in Saskatchewan:

University of Regina

University of Saskatchewan

School-based experiences are one of the most important components in education programs. It can be one of the most challenging and exciting experiences of your professional career. You will have the opportunity to learn new skills and test theory under the guidance of a mentor teacher.

As “teachers in training,” all students enrolled in a teacher education program in Saskatchewan are automatically members of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation. STF membership  provides access to many programs, services and resources that can aid in successfully completing coursework, internships and the launch of a career in the teaching profession.

Teacher education programs offered in Saskatchewan are approved by the Teacher Education and Certification Committee of the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board (SPTRB). The Committee is comprised of representatives from the various educational stakeholders in the province including the Federation.